Databases

Cover art
PublisherRhizome2017
to_oblivion.zip laments the death of Reyhaneh Jabbari, who was convicted and hanged in Iran on October 25, 2014 for the alleged murder of her rapist.
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2013
For The Download’s first free and open project, Deanna Havas offers a solution to earn back your membership donation once required to access The Download. By participating in Havas’s Affiliate Program (2013) the user can set up their own affiliate website to generate traffic to its host site, deannahavas.com. As an affiliate publisher, you will be reimbursed relative to how much traffic you drive to the site, which is calculated via metrics like pay per click and cost per impression. The package includes a small website, banner ads, and media ready to use for your microsite as well as step by step ...
Cover art
Cover art
PublisherFree Agent Media2006
Code: Survey was developed for the Morphosis-designed Caltrans District VII Headquarters in downtown Los Angeles as an architectural and digital installation. Whereas the building houses a grid of 168 glass panels of images related to transportation, each panel engraved with an alphanumeric code, the website is its searchable counterpart of photographs, codes and an index of keywords. Images, texts, film footage and audio from interviews with Caltrans employees as well as native Californians intermingle in Green’s website as a dynamic archive that undermines and complicates our expectation of searching any form of place. Code: Survey exists as a process allowing temporary imaginary inhabitation ...
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2016
To create his image-based narratives, Cooper arranges found GIFs into vertical sequences, two or three at a time, and then stacks them into tall columns, which are scrolled.
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2016
The .stl and .obj files contained within Material Speculation: ISIS/Download Series (King Uthal) are the first 3D models of a lost artwork openly published by Morehshin Allahyari.
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2013
ECCOS is a modification of the soundtrack from an Ecco the Dolphin gameplay video found on Youtube. Wilson contextualizes ECCOS as furniture music: not a centerpiece, but a backdrop for thought and other activities. The project utilizes an input output system, in which he employs the simple “change speed” and “echo” effects in Final Cut Pro and pushes them to their maximum values. Wilson has diagrammed the process, relating it to kindred experiments like Brian Eno’s Discreet Music. In that spirit, ECCOS seeks–and finds–a limit within the music itself.
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2012
>get >put – an exhibition download contains the work of six uploaders and downloaders produced for >get >put at little berlin in Philadelphia, PA. >get >put is an exploration of the interplay between the physical, social and digital spaces of networked culture. Installed as a series of digital compositions anchored in spatiotemporal objects, the work focuses around the fundamental shared behaviors of ‘downloading’ and ‘uploading’ that support our networked world. The exhibition exists in two parts – as digital compositions installed in HTML for this download, and as physical pieces produced for the exhibition’s installation.
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2012
Hapax Phaenomena is a collection of historically unique images discovered by Google image search from collaborators Clement Valla and John Cayley. The fragile and tenuous Phaenomena are organized into subcategories within the five folders; 1_discordant_wonderfulness; 2_nondurable_megabyte; 3_inventive_monetarism; 4_patriotic_leaseback; and 5_diatomic_roach. Each Phaenomena is accompanied by a certificate of authenticity, a screenshot of its moment of global and historical singularity taken by one of the artists.
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2018
!!!Sección A R T E [No. 11+Rhizome] launches simultaneously as a download on Rhizome and as part of El Paquete Semanal, a weekly collection of media distributed via an in-person file sharing network in Cuba. It will be archived permanently on the former, but overwritten within seven days on the latter.
Cover art
PublisherRhizome2016
Wakeling calls Incantations for the Birth of a Network “a proto-script for a film,” a story that traces the invention of the computer and the atomic bomb as precursors to the internet. As of January 2018, this work has been taken offline.
Cover art
PublisherGauss PDF2014
MISC NOTES >> The Mus musculus (house mouse) genome is comprised of 21 chromosomes. PDFs derived from the publicly available primary assembly for Mus musculus, GRCm38, released by the Genome Reference Consortium in January, 2012, and subsequently used by UCSC to create the mm10 database available on ensemble.org. The GRCm38 primary assembly is made up of 3,480,955,279 nucleotide base pairs, which collectively code some 23,148 genes, on nineteen chromosomes (pp. 1 — 709,409 pp.) as well as the sex chromosomes X and Y (terminal 75,257 pps.). The 13th chromosome alone is comprised of over 120 million nucleotide base pairs that code 1,572 genes. Many ...

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site. Read our privacy policy to learn more. Accept

Join Our Mailing List